Previous Articles

Chairmanship of the Berlin ASEAN Committee Transferred to Myanmar

The Embassy of Malaysia in Berlin officially transferred the prerogatives of the ASEAN Chairmanship to Myanmar

August 10th, 2016
Ionuț-Eugen-Radu Sava, News from Berlin

In the presence of eight ambassadors and representatives of the ASEAN embassies in Berlin, Malaysian officials transferred the chairmanship of the ASEAN Committee to Myanmar at the end of July 2016.

ASEAN - officially known as the Association of Southeast Asian Nations - is a regional intergovernmental organization whose main objective is to facilitate economic cooperation amongst its member states. Under the slogan of "One Vision, One Identity, One Community", the Jakarta-based entity works towards creating a more integrated economic community in Asia.

The exceptional diplomatic and strategic nature of the event should be recognized, in light of the report of the Berlin ASEAN Committee "undertaken through Malaysia's Chairmanship", which has been in place between January 2016 and July 2016.

H.E. Amb. Dato' Zulkifli Adnan took a moment during the discussion to express his gratitude to fellow members of the Committee "for the support and cooperation extended throughout Malaysia's Chairmanship." Discussions on the future projects waiting to be implemented and details of the agenda for the second half of the year were also raised during the course of the meeting.

Those present at the event were also informed of the draft program proposed by Myanmar for the period July 2016 to December 2016, currently awaiting approval by the Committee. "As a symbolic gesture, the outgoing Chair, H.E. Dato’ Zulkifli Adnan presented the ASEAN Flag to the new Berlin ASEAN Chair, H.E. Daw Yin Yin Myint."


News from Berlin