Traffic Light House 2015
A Selection of Young Dutch Designers Are Coming To the Town Of OranienbaumAugust 17th, 2015
The name Oranienbaum can be traced back to the 17th century when Countess Henriette Catherine of Nassau (Henriëtte Catharina van Oranje) came into possession of the town.
The settlement was previously known as Nischwitz but was renamed in 1673. From 1683, Countess Henriette Catherine of Nassau, princess consort of Prince John George II of Anhalt-Dessau and a descendent of the House of Orange-Nassau, erected the Oranienbaum Palace based on the Dutch architect Cornelis Ryckwaert’s plans. The palace parks are now regarded as a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.
Since 2012 the Ampelhaus in Oranienbaum manages exhibitions and resident artists for Dutch artists and designers working on the theme of recycling and transformation. That is, turning old rejected objects into innovative and fully functional ones. This year, the public will also have the possibility to discover the one-hundred years German and Dutch history which the Ampelhaus has to offer.
This year´s exhibition, supported by the Dutch Embassy in Berlin, is called Lost and Found; it will be featuring eight artists, eight designers and their work which was will be exposed over eight weeks from August 29th to September 26th 2015, thus making is an interactive demonstration of art.
Although it is not the first time that the Ampelhaus hosts such an event, it is the first time that Dutch and international perspectives come together and engage in a dialogue with the population and the town’s institutions.
The artists and designers participating in the event are as follow:
Bora Hong, Birgit Severin und Guillaume Neu-Rinaudo, Fotini Gouseti, Gemis Luciani, Giuseppe Licari, Jeroen Arians, Joost Goudriaan, Judy van Luyk, Marijke Appelman, Maurice Meewisse, Michiel Jansen, Nienke Janssen, Simone Romanow.
Ampelhaus, Brauerstraße 33, Oranienbaum 29/08/2015 – 20/09/2015
References and Links
Florence Hallack-Wolff, Berlin Global