South Africa is honored to Assume the Role of Chair of African Union for 2020

Based on the principle of rotation, South Africa is to chair AU after Egypt this year

February 19th, 2019
Anastasia Petrova, News from Berlin
20190219_South Africa is honored.jpg

The 32nd Ordinary Session of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the African Union (AU) was held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, from 10 to 11 February 2019. Heads of states unanimously voted for South Africa as the chair of African Union for next year.

South Africa will chair the African Union for the first time since 2002, when it first hosted the first Ordinary Session of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government in Durban. That summit in Durban officially launched the African Union, with the aim of strengthening financial cooperation of the continent to advance improvement and fortify solidarity and unity between African nations.

Egypt is the current chair of African Union for this year, and South Africa accepts the baton with honor. South Africa is determined to take Pan-African unity, integration and development to the next level with regard to Agenda 2063.

The main objectives of chairing period for South Africa include “silencing the guns” in order to achieve peace and security, aim to contribute towards a conflict-free Africa and end all wars on the continent.

Moreover, it is worth noting that South Africa will chair the AU and simultaneously have a seat at United Nations Security Council for the last year. This gives the state an opportunity to leverage the UN capacity and help achieve the above mentioned goals. Besides, South Africa will also use its chairperson role of the African Union to speed up the implementation of the African Continental Free Trade Agreement. Already signed by 49 African countries, the agreement aims to create a tariff-free continent that can grow local businesses, boost intra-African trade, enhance industrialization and create jobs.


News from Berlin