2019 German-Czech Journalist Award to be held in June

The invitation to tender for the fourth year of the German-Czech Journalist Award has begun

May 16th, 2019
Jacob Klausen, News from Berlin
20190516_2019 German-Czech Journalist Award.jpg

Photo by Hebbel am Ufel

The award recognizes journalists who, with their differentiated and engaging reporting, raise interest in the neighboring country and promote the open dialogue between Germans and Czechs. The prize is awarded by the German-Czech Future Fund, together with the journalists' associations of both countries (DJV and Syndikát novinářů).

"Unfortunately, the conditions for independent journalism in Europe and in our two countries are getting rougher, as the latest report by Reporters Without Borders shows," said Petra Ernstberger and Tomáš Jelínek, managing directors of the Future Fund. "Preserving a fresh, unbiased, and attentive attitude today requires courage and deserves support. That is precisely the aim of the German-Czech Journalist Award. "

The best German-language and Czech-language contributions from the categories text, audio and multimedia (including TV) will be awarded. In addition, the special prize "Milena Jesenská" will be awarded to a German or Czech contribution, which deals in an outstanding way with the topics of moral courage, multicultural understanding and tolerance and has a high contemporary relevance.

The special award for long-term outstanding journalistic activity also recognizes journalists or journalistic formats that have rendered outstanding service over a longer period to more differentiated reporting on the neighboring country.
The prize is endowed with 2,000 euros each, the special award for long-term activity is an undated honorary award.  Contributions may be submitted by the authors themselves or proposed by editors or third parties. For the special award a nomination by a third party is required.

The tender and further information on price are available online at:

A short video review of the last year of the German-Czech Journalist Award can be found here:

The jury of the German-Czech Journalist Award 2019 is composed with the following individuals:
Category Text:
Petr Brod (journalist and journalist)
Daniel Brössler (journalist, Süddeutsche Zeitung)
Adam Černý (journalist, Hospodářské noviny, chairman of the Czech Association of Journalists)
Anneke Hudalla (European Academy Berlin)
Karel Hvížďala (journalist and author, Czech Radio and others)

Category Audio:
Libuse Černá (journalist, Radio Bremen)
František Černý (journalist and diplomat aD)
Bogna Koreng (journalist, MDR-Studio Bautzen)
Lída Rakušanová (freelance journalist, Czech Radio and others, correspondent Passauer Neue Presse)
Christoph Scheffer (journalist, Hessischer Rundfunk)

Multimedia category:
Vojtěch Berger (journalist, independent watchdog portal
Michael Hiller (journalist, managing director of DJV Sachsen)
Peter Lange (radio correspondent for ARD and Deutschlandradio in Prague)
Bára Procházková (journalist, online portal ČT24)
Blanka Závitkovská (Journalist, Czech Television)


News from Berlin